Skip to content

Moscow Championships

January 25, 2011

I can’t find much information besides the top three all around and what I can piece together from posts on the Russian Gymnastics Forum. The results look quite odd to me. Maria Chibiskova won ahead of Anna Myzdrikova and Elena Syrnikova. From what I watched of Chibiskova and Syrnikova on youtube, they both look like C Team gymnasts. Myzdrikova cannot do bars. That lead me to the conclusion that everybody else really screwed up, watered down or did not compete all around. There are no scores available, so it’s hard to tell what really happened.

The national team members supposedly competed at Round Lake and their scores were added into the competition. I am doubtful that there will be videos of this portion of the competition.

Grishina is still getting back into competition shape according to the forum, but according to her website she made mistakes, as did Sidorova.

Sidorova apparently competed a triple twist beam dismount, which is new for her. Mustafina and Dementyeva both competed 6.7 beam routines, but I can’t understand what skills they did. Dementyeva probably added her switch ring leap and Mustafina probably added all of the new combinations she did after worlds. I am getting quite interested in Irina Sazonova because of all of the tumbling passes that this forum has said she is trying. I’ve heard of a 3 1/2 twist, a whip triple and a 2 1/2 twist rudi combination. She did fall on at least one of these and I think under-rotated, which hurts when you’re doing three twisting passes in 1/2 twist increments. From the videos I’ve seen of her, she never seemed to a very strong tumbler, so all of these crazy passes are a huge surprise. It also sound like Mustafina competed the 3 1/2 twist from the following post, but I’m not sure if that’s true. She does have new music, which I hope means that her routine has more choreography.

Source: (Grishina’s Website/Forum)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

