Skip to content

Luiza Galiulina: AA Underscore?

November 17, 2010

I recently said in my post about beam and floor finals of the asian games that I believe that Galiulina was incredibly underscored on beam during the all around, and I would like to elaborate on it. First, here are her routines from the AA and EF, which really show the difference in scoring:

All Around, scored 13.65

Event Finals, starts at 7:21, scored 14.35

I am not a judge, but I will try my hardest to compare the routines. She starts with the double wolf turn, which was good both times but I love how she stood up right out of it in the all around. The jumps were the same both times. The front pike could have possibly been downgraded in either case, although I probably wouldn’t take it. If they did it in only the all around, she would count her layout stepout and lose .2. She had little errors on both of her front tucks, which were probably both about .3 deductions. This means she failed to connect it into her acro series, but she did it both times. The backhandspring layout stepout combo was solid both times, as was the switch leap back tuck combo and the johnson leap. There was a tiny wobble on her front aerial in the AA, so that’s a .1. Then, she took a .1 type step on her EF dismount and stuck it (sort of) in the AA.

With my judging, I am getting a .2 difference between the routines, and that is being mean and not giving her credit for the front pike. The scores were .7 apart. Maybe the event final judges were just very lenient, but I was shocked after watching her all around routine to see how low the score was.

What do you think? Underscore?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 5:18 AM

    Well I’m not a judge too but I was definitely shocked when I saw her score for beam at AA, esp since others were getting quite reasonable scores.

  2. July 8, 2012 5:16 AM

    if you are watching this please contact to me luiza

Leave a Reply

